This and That

5 08 2010

In 8 days, I’m getting married.  At my house.  Which is under construction.

If that doesn’t excuse me from frequent blog posts, I don’t know what will.

I spent the first month of summer vacation pretty much refusing to do anything remotely productive, and I really don’t regret that time.  But when I got back from Costa Rica, I entered blind-panic-frantic-help-me-one-hundred-people-are-descending-on-my-house-in-a-month mode.  What a rush.

I’ve been attempting to bring my yard back from the brink of death.  The results?  My back is peeling from a blistered sunburn, my arms are scratched, my feet are black from gardening in Crocs, my hands are blistered, my nails are torn and cracked, and my back is so sore I can’t stand up.  Oh, yeah, and my yard has reached a mediocre, could-be-worse state that is simply going to have to do.

And then I got a speeding ticket.

Jason told my mom over the phone.  “Jill got a speeding ticket,” he said.  “Jill did?” my mom asked, stunned.  The thing is, I never really go over the speed limit.  But I was trying to pass some guy before the end of the passing lane, he kept speeding up – and over the crest of the hill we were reaching came an entire convoy of police returning from a conference.

Okay, so tough break.

The fact is, it’s still summer vacation.

So let’s just…

My soon-to-be aunt and I enjoy the boat after a long day of chores and hard work.

Sometimes, you just have to let it go.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment