You Don’t Need to be an English Major

13 02 2012

… to know there is often a ‘p’ in gross.  In case my last post didn’t cover enough of the bodily-fluids-and-babies genre, I’m back with this confession:

Two nights ago, in the wee (get ready for the pun) hours of the morning, my daughter’s diaper leaked as I was nursing her in our bed.  Possibly the same night she peed into my hand.  The comforter got slightly damp.

And then I fell asleep, and when I woke up, I probably knew it was time to wash the comforter, but my husband was sound asleep in bed.  And the next time I thought about it, it was the middle of the night again.

So, yeah, I slept in a pee bed.

Why am I making this public knowledge?

Well, first of all, I am hoping that by writing this down, I will remember to rip that comforter off the bed as soon as my husband gets up.

Second, it is a public service on this dreary Monday.  For all of you out there who sometimes question your parenting skills or personal hygiene habits, you can smugly think, “Hey, at least I’m not sleeping in a pee bed.”

You’re welcome.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 02 2012
Karen

Been there done that . . . more than once. Yeah, if there aren’t a minimum of two p’s or a v in the word, it’s not important enough to merit getting up out of bed in the middle of the night. And if you forget to do the wash, it’s not important enough to wake up your sleeping husband who has to work at 3 am.

When we were trying to solve Carter’s night-time heavy wetting/cloth diaper problem, I woke up in a lake just about every night. Those pre-folds (give it a try with the orange-edged ones) are crazy-absorbent and are perfect for throwing down on top of the bed in the middle of the night, so you aren’t laying in a wet spot. And they are softer than a towel. AND by morning the spot is usually dry. If you put a towel down, it will stay wet all night, all day, and yes, still be wet when you go to bed . . . if you forget to do the laundry. Not that that’s happened to me or anything.

Hmm . . . can I sign this comment as “anonymous”?

13 02 2012
domesticanomaly

Karen, you discovered my ulterior motive: to elicit confessions from other mothers so I feel better about myself. Thanks for the laugh! My sheets are clean now. I discovered my clean mattress pad was still damp, but I put it on the bed anyway because I am too lazy to take it back down to the dryer. At least it is only wet with water now.

13 02 2012
Connie

We have slept on more than one towel covering pee when our kids were babies

Leave a Reply

