The Sum of Six Weeks: A Note to My Daughter

26 10 2011

So, we’ve had you with us for a nanosecond and for an eternity.  You’ve always been here, and yet you just arrived.  I suppose it’s that way with a lot of parents, and probably the lack of sleep adds to the dichotomy.

But the calendar says six weeks.  And tomorrow will be seven.

Where has the time gone?

Well…

You’ve taken 4 trips of three or more days and three or more hours away.  2 camping trips.

You have gone to 3 midwife appointments, 3 pediatric appointments, 3 Ob/Gyn appointments, 1 ultrasound appointment, and 1 massage therapist.

You’ve broken 1 bone, and that you broke it being born makes it no less impressive.

You’ve met dozens of dogs, 1 cat, 2 horses, a cow, and the mouse that took up residence in our living room for a few days.

You’ve gone to restaurants: Mexican, Peruvian, Japanese, Thai, American… And slept through most of them.

You hate the car.  Except sometimes you love the car.

You sleep between your dad and I, and my heart nearly breaks with happiness if I spend too much time thinking about it.

You’ve slept through the removal of windows and exterior walls and the cutting of concrete and the installation of sheetrock and the barking of dogs.

You started at 6 pounds, 10 ounces and have grown to 10 pounds, 6 ounces.  You have outgrown clothes already.

You make these squeaky little sounds and I call you “my little mouse.”  And yesterday, you made your first consonant sound, the “m” sound, and you said it to your grandma, not me, so I pretended not to be impressed but I was, I was just jealous.

Right now, you are sleeping on the bed next to me, and I keep poking you because I miss you.

I could keep going, but none of it adds up to our six weeks together.  None of it adds up to who you are at this moment in time.  None of it expresses just how much I love you.

I could keep going, but I don’t want to miss another moment of cuddling with you.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 10 2011
Sheila Loe

jill, an absolutely beautiful gift written in honor and awe of your love for her…It makes me jealous that I didn’t have the gift and freedom of expressing my love to my older babies the way you have. Oh I thought they were beautiful and wonderful and I felt a powerful love….but you gave it serenity, depth, and an eternity in your declaration, something that can only grow. She is so lucky to have you as mother and so lucky to have her daddy. It all works.

12 11 2011
jaimey

I am crying. beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

