There’s This Guy…

27 06 2011

Baby, I’ve got to tell you something.  Right now, I’m the most important person in your life; for this moment, I can say that with 100% assurance that I’m telling the truth.  At some point in the next few months, that might change.  But for now, it’s just you and me.

But there’s this guy…

And I have to admit it, whatever you might think of him, I think he’s a rival for the position of your Number One Fan.

He likes shopping at Grocery Outlet and Food 4 Less, but he won’t have you drink anything less than organic milk – preferably from a local farm, even at $7 a gallon.  And by drinking, I mean in utero.

He’ll eat two-week-old pot roast that spent at least one night on the counter, but he grumbles if I tell him I’m feeding you a bowl of cereal for dinner.

He calls you Baby Spoon.

He shot down my plan of buying that cheap crib because it wasn’t safe enough for you.

He has missed some of our midwife appointments because the poor guy can’t be on time to save his life (but I bet he could do it to save yours), but he’s attempted to make every single one so far.

He woke me up in the middle of the night to tell me one more time how excited he was that you went down a Class III rapid.

And, speaking of nights, he falls asleep every evening with one hand on my growing belly, waiting for you to say hello.

Some day soon, I’m going to have to share you.  There will be many, many people who will love you and cherish you and care for you.  And there’s a part of me that’s a little sad that you won’t be just mine any more.

But, Baby, let me tell you this: I can’t wait for you to meet this guy.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 06 2011
Karen

Well if that isn’t the cutest stinkin’ thing I’ve ever read.

18 07 2011
Sarah H.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this!

Leave a Reply

