Or Maybe It’s Just Gas

11 02 2011

When I found out I was pregnant this time, I didn’t want to tell many people – or any, really.  Jason told plenty, but I only told a few – including a couple of people at work who would need to know if anything went wrong.

On hearing the news, one of my coworkers said, triumphantly, “I thought so!”

I must have looked puzzled, because she elaborated: “Well, a couple of weeks ago, I thought you were getting, you know, a belly.”

“Linda!” I gasped.  “I’m only, like, six weeks along.  I think you’re just calling me fat!”

 

 

Today, I announced to several people that my pants are getting tight.  Universal cheers to this.

Until I explained: “They are getting tight on my thighs.”

I paused.  Then: “Do you think I’m gestating this baby in my thighs?”

I was almost hoping for it, really.

 

 

I haven’t been doing belly shots during this pregnancy.  I’m trying not to be superstitious about anything this time around, but it’s nearly impossible.  Today, I placed an order for a few cloth diapers, and as soon as I hit the “Place Order” button, I immediately ran to the bathroom to check for spotting and began overanalyzing every twinge in my uterus.  In addition to my fear of causing spontaneous abortion by doing something reckless, like, um, I don’t know, actually acting like I’m expecting a baby in seven months, I am still recovering from this disappointment during my previous pregnancy: I spent two days absolutely fat with pregnancy – I mean, unquestionably so – and then, just like that, a good, long fart and I was deflated.

 

 

However, yesterday a coworker told me I was showing.  And I wanted to believe her.

 

 

So:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Here’s 9.5 weeks… Or maybe I just really, really need to fart.

Actions

Information

5 responses

12 02 2011
Torri

Jill, I am so happy for you and Jason. I miss you dearly and will be sending healthy, positive energy your ways. You look gorgeous and infatuated. 🙂 Cherish the moment and trust the universe has a plan. Relax and know that your love and calmness sinks to your growing offspring. Find ways to enjoy the pleasures of life (frequently, daily, hourly), this will help your mind body and soul stay balanced.
If I need to come over and do some yoga, I am there. 🙂 Or if you need a good laugh and a friend to fart in front of, well I would be there for that too. Stay strong my friend and know you are an amazing woman!

Torri

12 02 2011
Karen

LOVE the pictures, and your little baby bump!!

12 02 2011
Julie in Bend

I love you, and think you are a beautiful pregnant lady! I have your sonogram as my wallpaper! I see that grandbaby everytime I look at my computer! Awwww, baby gummi bear, awwwwww…

13 02 2011
Connie

I noticed you were showing too. Didn’t know how you would take it so didn’t say anything. 🙂

14 02 2011
Barbara Dan

I see baby! Congratulations!! Lots of prayers coming your way.

Leave a Reply

