The Real Deal

8 02 2011

 

Yeah, I totally see how the picture above could be entirely meaningless, and it’s my kid, for heaven’s sake.  But I do know this much: in that curve of dark space (which looks sort of phallic to me, a sure sign I’m not ready to parent), there is a light colored sort of blob that looks a little like a Cinnamon Bear but much more like a very tiny E.T. reclining in there.

And I am the proud creator of… that thing.  And by “thing” I do mean “miracle of life, etc., etc.”

That’s not to say I don’t smile and go teary-eyed every time I see it, and that’s not to say I haven’t looked at the image a hundred thousand times today.

It’s just to acknowledge that if my photo-of-the-day looks like a weird, phallic, extraterrestrial abstract painting to you, I totally get it.  I really do.

But it was love at first sight for me.

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 02 2011
Karen

What a beautiful head shape!

10 02 2011
jaimey

ditto that!

11 02 2011
domesticanomaly

September 11th, according to my cycle, and September 9th according to the ultrasound (I’ve heard US measurements aren’t very accurate for predicting due dates, though). It’s going to be a long, hot summer for us, isn’t it? Congrats to you, too!

9 02 2011
Alicia S.

This is probably a bit of an overreaction for someone whose never actually met you — but I swear my heart jumped up in my throat when I saw this! Your post from a few weeks ago really stuck with me… you‘ve totally just made my day. Happy Heatbeat!

(Haha, also – I couldn’t hold anything healthy down in my pregnancy with my daughter. I swear I vomited almost everyday, until I realized that she required a special diet of potato chips, soda and ice cream — things I won’t even eat when I’m NOT pregnant. I swore she was going to come out looking like Homer Simpson. (She didn’t. :-P) )

10 02 2011
jaimey

Yay you!! I am glad I can properly congradulate you now in public and all!! I am so excited for us to have babies at the same time! 🙂 What is your exact EDD now? I am Aug 31, but knowing my kid it will be Sept 4 or so. LOL

Leave a Reply

