Eating for How Many?

16 09 2010

My little pregnancy-update-via-email told me today that doctors want women to let go of that “eating for two” mentality during pregnancy.

Meanwhile, my midwife has asked for me to track my food intake for five days prior to my next appointment.

And, heading back to work, I looked around for a cute new lunch box before realizing that I really just need a big canvas bag to hold all my food containers.

So food has been on my mind.

This is what I take to work each day:

And that doesn’t include my food stash that stays at work: hummus, some chocolate, extra crackers.  And it doesn’t include any doughnuts or cookies or chocolate that someone might have put in the break room as a treat (I do try very, very hard to avoid the break room).

Here is part of today’s report for the midwife:

breakfast burrito, yogurt with honey and blueberries, Puffins cereal, carrots, snap peas, tomatoes, bread and hummus, dark chocolate, mango, strawberries, Goldfish crackers, Chocolate Cat Cookies (Trader Joe’s, I am SO addicted to cat cookies), plus a bottle of mint water and chai tea with soy milk

But that’s just what I ate while I was at work.  I get off work at 4, and there’s still plenty of eating to be done.

I have read that while pregnant women shouldn’t “eat for two,” they do need an extra 100-300 calories a day, depending on the trimester.

So, I guess I’ll go have another piece of chocolate…

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 09 2010
Karen

But that’s all healthy! You are going to have one well-balanced kid!

16 09 2010
domesticanomaly

Or an orange kid, from all the carrots…

17 09 2010
Jaimey

When I worked at T I was always laughed at bc I usually only had a 15 minute break but I would take a HUGE bag of food. Partly bc I never knew what I wanted to eat HOURS after I packed (sheesh!) but also how hungry I would be. And goodness forbid if I was asked to stay longer than 6 hours (requiring a lunch) food was my first thought. LOL

I (and my hips) miss that job. It helped me only gain 8 lbs. 🙂 Sadly, I gained more post baby than I did while pg!!!

Good luck. Keep those pics coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

