My Mom Told Me, “If You Can’t Say Something Nice…”

24 06 2010

Jason and I are planning an unconventional wedding.  It’s perfect for the two of us, as we each have our own way of bucking conventions.  Mostly, it’s been a good laugh, and we have had overwhelming support from people who know us, and even from people who don’t.

And, really, what could be more fun than a wedding inspired by a horror movie?

So I was shocked, downright appalled, hurt, and horrified to receive this RSVP card in the mail:

Really, an invitation to a wedding is not a solicitation of opinion or judgement.  Who sees an RSVP card as an opportunity to vent?

But I thought about it for awhile.  Jason Voorhee’s mother saw summer camp as an opportunity to vent (by murdering dozens of innocent people, but still…), and we are using our date of Friday the 13th as a jumping-off point for our whole wedding.

And, really, our wedding is all about celebrating the unusual, the out-of-the-ordinary, and the unconventional.  And what is more conventional than manners?  So I suppose, upon reflection, this response is right in the spirit of our wedding plans.

I was forming a variety of acidic responses to the sender of that card as I walked my dog this evening.  My thoughts were interrupted by this amazing moment:

I was stunned by the sight of this little family, not fifteen feet from the path on which Charlie and I were walking.  I snapped this shot as I tried to block them from Charlie’s vision.

You know what?

They don’t give a damn about the theme of my wedding.

And in all honesty, I don’t either.

I care about the man I’m marrying.

Actions

Information

6 responses

24 06 2010
alison

Hoping these weren’t close friends of yours. I thought the invitation was fab! loved it!

25 06 2010
Karen

No loss to you. They probably wouldn’t have been very fun at the wedding anyways. The boys would have had a real good time with these losers too bad they are not going to make it. Plus they probably would have got you a really lame present.

Love

Travis

I hope it wasn’t your grandparents then I kind of feel bad about what I said above. HA HA HA

25 06 2010
Jaimey

Shame on them. I think it’s very fitting cause well you are a clown but I love you anyway. Come hell or high water or screaming children we will be there. 🙂 though I may use the card to vent more about how annoying it is you couldn’t get married in Portland. Lol. hugs!!

25 06 2010
Kai

Yeah – I want to celebrate your love and commitment only on MY terms. And I like pink. and princesses. and tulle. and obedience. and me me me. DIFFERENT IS WRONG.
At least the Judgey McJudgersons have the good sense to stay home and not spoil things. How sad indeed.

26 06 2010
Connie

I’m as about as conservative as it gets. Really I know I have the bad endawindo
(sp check couldn’t even help me with that word)
joke once in awhile. But I didn’t take offense to your theme. And who am I to take offense anyway.

28 06 2010
James

Good Response..whose life is so small..oh wait! the RSVP’er answered that.

Leave a Reply

