The Chair

11 05 2010


The Story of The Chair:

Charlie, Carbon and I – now just Charlie and I – take our daily walks around the BLM land.  It’s like an extension of our front yard, and I know it well.  I take note of trees blown down, beer cans abandoned, new deer tracks.  A couple of months ago, all three of us were startled by the overnight appearance of two recliners.  They were left on a dirt track, facing the same direction, for all the world like there was a TV off in the distance.  I thought, “I need to get a picture of this!” but kept forgetting my camera.  Since our discovery, Carbon died and we bought a house.  I haven’t spent nearly as much time wandering the BLM acreage.  Today, I finally remembered my camera.  I hurried to the chairs, hoping nobody had hauled them off in the weeks since I last saw them.  Luckily, both were still there, and one was still upright and in decent shape.

I had much better shots in my head than I ended up with.  Charlie not only doesn’t know his own name, he doesn’t know certain basic commands like “sit,” “stay,” and “gaze into the distance while I spend three minutes madly taking shots from a variety of angles.”  I got one shot before he leapt from the chair and began running mad circles around me, his leash flying behind him.  Given the state of the chair, it’s hard to blame him.

The Chair

Actions

Information

One response

4 05 2011
Creative Pursuits « My Dog Doesn't Know His Own Name

[…] of photography.  I began toting around my little point-and-shoot so I could capture moments like this.  I admit that I was hoping that if I could take some decent photos with that little camera, I (or […]

Leave a Reply

